Pacific Island Towns and Cities


Welcome to the ICLEI Oceania Pacific Island Towns and Cities website.

ICLEI Oceania region includes 29 Pacific nations:

American Samoa, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Australia, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Cook Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federates States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wake Island, Wallis and Futuna.

While Australia and New Zealand are technically islands, this website focuses on the 27 smaller Pacific Island Nations. ICLEI Oceania has been working with island communities since early 2015 – connecting political leaders into international networks and events and conducting planning workshops for their leaders, managers, staff and community members.


ICLEI has launched its Pacific Islands Partnership Program. Any council or ICLEI partner can now become a financial supporter for ICLEI’s work in the Pacific region, assisting some of the most vulnerable places on Earth to become more resilient to climate change, disasters and other stressors. See the News and Events page for more information.